Trying to pick a date…and plan everything else.

So recently I’ve started reading about how to pick a date for your wedding. I’m devouring everything I can find, because my parents got married so long ago that they don’t remember exactly how they planned theirs, and I, of course, am new to all of this, and so is my fiance.

Honest, I already have some looming dread creeping up on me, and we haven’t even set a date. (The dread that’s creeping up might be partially due to the fact that we haven’t chosen a date, in fact.) The more I read, the more I think, “Maybe we will need help from someone who actually knows what they’re doing.” But then the thought of hiring a wedding planner causes even more stress because of the cost involved. We’re college students, and only one of us is currently employed (hopefully that changes soon, as I just turned in a job application at the same Chick-fil-A where my fiance works). But even if I am employed, there’s just so much cost to all of this, that I don’t know where to begin. You can’t plan if you don’t have a budget, and currently, we’re not sure how much we can spend.

My dad told me that the average wedding in America costs about $29,000. Totally not happening for us. We’re working more with a budget that could end up being under $5,000. Speaking of budgeting, I’m currently freaking out about a dress. The one that I thought I wanted costs nearly $2,000 and I don’t know if I’m willing to spend that kind of money on a dress that I will only wear once, no matter how special the occasion is. I’m looking at other dresses and, although I thought that I was dead-set on the first one I picked, I am not so sure now that I’m seeing so many other ones that are much, much cheaper, and just as pretty. Also, looking at this first dress, I’m not 100% sure if it’s what I wanted in the first place.

All of this is kind of making me, like,

Image

GAAAAHHHHH!

Yes, I’m freaking out a little bit.

Only a little, though…

Leave a Reply

