I’m engaged!!!

Last night was one of the best nights of my life. I’m officially engaged to a wonderful godly man, Anthony “TJ” Rivas. I’m so excited for whatever God has planned. He’d promised me a “good story for your friends,” and he definitely came through on that.

He told me around Christmas that he had a date planned for New Year’s Day evening. He said, “I know you like it when I plan things, so I planned a date for us.” I had no idea what the date was actually for. He took me out to Olive Garden and we had dinner. Then we went outside and he said, “Let’s go for a walk.” I said okay, and we started walking. I was shivering so badly that I wanted to go back to the car pretty quickly. We were almost back to the car when he stopped me and said, “Open this,” and handed me this napkin.

Image

My wonderful fiance’s way of telling me he loves me.

I read it, and closed my eyes and counted to ten. When I opened my eyes, he was down on one knee holding out the ring and asked me to marry him. I said yes and jumped on him, and couldn’t stop hugging and kissing him. I was so happy that I even stopped feeling how cold it was for a couple minutes.

TJ writing me little notes on napkins is how our relationship began, and now it’s how it will continue. I still have the first one he gave me, and I’m keeping this one too.

The ring is one size too small, so we are going to have it re-sized on Thursday. It will take anywhere from a couple days to a couple weeks, depending on where we go. But I would rather it be done right and take longer than have my ring ruined. I love it so much. I can’t believe this is actually happening. I’m so excited!

I loved him even more when he told me that he’d planned all of this because he was trying to do something he knew I’d like. I loved it! I also am astonished at how well he knows me, and how well he listens when I talk to him. It’s wonderful. I am truly blessed. No man that I’ve ever been with has been as wonderful as he is to me.

I also realize how blessed I am to have future in-laws who love me, and are awesome. After hearing about some of the issues that friends have had with their in-laws, I am so happy that I have a good relationship with TJ’s family.

God has blessed me over and over again.

This is my ring. Isn’t it beautiful? (((:

Image

My beautiful engagement ring.

Leave a Reply

